Workers’ Compensation Benefits in Covington, GA

Worker’s compensation is a no-fault type of insurance cover that is designed to offer employees some benefits if they get injured while at work. As such, if you are a worker and have been injured on the job, you have the legal right to seek workers’ compensation benefits in Covington, GA.

This policy will offer workers benefits for disability, medical expenses, lost wages, and even death benefits. However, the sad reality is that employers and insurance companies are not always willing to give injured workers the compensation benefits they truly deserve.

This is the reason you need to speak with our Covington worker’s compensation lawyers. At the Workers’ Compensation Lawyer Coalition, we deal with worker’s compensation cases only. For this reason, our lawyers are highly skilled in this field of law and have years of experience to back everything up. We have won our clients millions of dollars of compensation.

Call us today at 770-796-0919, and we will handle all the legal aspects of your claim. Do not forget that we offer free initial consultation services and work on a contingency basis.

Table of Contents

Georgia Workers Compensation Income Limits

In Georgia, the income limit is going to be influenced by many factors. However, a majority will depend a lot on the time of the accident and a worker’s actual salary.

Worker’s compensation in Covington, Georgia will pay 2/3 of an injured employee’s weekly average income. Although this is the case, it is important to note that there is an upper limit or the maximum weekly payment. For temporary total disability, the upper limit is $675.

NOTE: it does not matter if your 2/3 weekly benefit calculation based on salary calculation exceeds more than $675; the maximum weekly payment will still apply.

Workers' Compensation Benefits in Covington Infographic

What Are the Types of Workers Compensation Benefits in GA?

The state of Georgia offers four types of benefits to workers under the worker’s compensation insurance act. These four types of disability benefits are differentiated and awarded based on the severity of the disability/injury and the time the disability/injury is expected to last.

Georgia’s Temporary Total Disability Benefits (TTD)

The rules and regulations that govern temporary total disability benefits can be found under Georgia’s worker’s compensation act Code 34-9-621. According to the rules, a worker is only eligible to receive TTD benefit when a doctor determines that they are unable to work. It comes with a 7-day waiting period, and only if the worker is out of work for 7 days; they are legally entitled to receive TTD benefits.

On the other hand, if the worker is still unable to work for 21 days, they are eligible to receive compensation for the 7-day they had to wait initially. It is important to note that temporary total disability benefit is determined on a weekly average income, and is payable every week.

If the employee remains out of work for 21 days, they are also eligible to get paid for the waiting period. The maximum limit is $675, and it is paid for a maximum of 400 weeks starting from the date of the accident. If a doctor determines that a worker can handle light-duty jobs then the benefits may be limited to a maximum of 52 weeks.

Georgia’s Temporary Partial Disability Benefit (TPD)

This type of disability benefit applies when a worker’s injuries are not totally disabling. The rules that govern temporary partial disability benefits can be found under Georgia’s worker’s compensation act Code 34-9-262. TPD will be awarded to an injured worker with partial disability status, and they are allowed to work on light duty capacity.

In other words, a worker will be able to go back to work but making less income compared to what they earned before the injury. For this reason, TPD is intended to cover part of the wage difference that exists due to the injury.

TPD has an upper limit or maximum limit of $450 per week, which is payable for a maximum of 350 weeks starting from the date of the accident. If a doctor declares that you can return to your normal work, the disability benefit will be discontinued.

Georgia’s Permanent Partial Disability Benefits (PPD)

This disability benefit is governed by Georgia’s worker’s compensation act code 34-9-263. A worker is only eligible to get PPD if the treating physician declares the injury has reached its Maximum Medical Improvement (MMI). This means that the injury cannot improve further medically.

NOTE: When an injured worker receives PPD, they will not be eligible to get TTD or TPD benefits. Remember, both the TTD and TPD benefits are calculations are done based on the 2/3 average weekly income and come with a maximum amount payable each week.

However, when it comes to PPD, calculations or the amount a person will get will be based on the impairment rating given by an authorized doctor. The rating given is then multiplied by the number of weeks allowed.

Georgia’s Permanent Total Disability Benefit (PTD)

Because worker’s compensation is a state-mandated insurance plan, it cannot be controlled at the federal level. What does this mean? It simply means that every state has different rules and regulations governing the worker’s compensation benefits.

The sad reality is that Georgia does not recognize the fourth PTD disability benefit. However, if a person loses both their legs, arms, hands, eyes, or a set of more than two body parts, they may qualify to receive compensation.

To know more about this, call our WCL Atl workers compensation lawyer today. We will guide you on what to do.

How Are Workers’ Compensation Benefits in Covington, GA Calculated?

When it comes to workers compensation benefits calculation, three methods will be used in Georgia, which are:

  • The most preferred method for calculating the weekly wages is by taking the average salary of an employee for work done in the past 13 weeks before the accident.
  • If the worker has not worked continuously within those 13 weeks, their wages will be estimated through similar employee earnings.
  • If both the above methods are not possible, or if the two methods cannot be used, the contracted rate of hire method is going to be used.

Remember, for compensation to be possible, everything will rely on the injury timeframe and a worker’s average earnings.

Are Workers’ Compensation Benefits Taxed?

No! Worker’s compensation benefits are not taxed under Georgia law and the IRS code. However, settlement amounts must be reported in specific circumstances.

Contact Our Workers’ Comp Lawyers Today

For help getting your workers’ compensation benefits in Covington, GA, contact our team at the Workers’ Compensation Lawyer Coalition.

Remember, Georgia’s worker’s compensation law is complex. This is why it is wise to seek the services of a professional lawyer. We offer free initial consultation services and work on a contingency fee basis. Let us protect your rights.

Call us today at 770-796-0919 to speak with an experienced workers’ compensation attorney!