When you are injured in the workplace in, Georgia, you are entitled to claim benefits from the workers’ compensation insurance cover of your employer. Every employer in Georgia is required to have workers’ compensation insurance if they employ more than three employees. Just because your employer has WC insurance, it doesn’t mean that your workplace injuries are automatically covered by the policy.
Reporting a work injury in Kennesaw is crucial. You also need to file a WC claim with the insurance company to get the required compensation for your injuries. Workers’ compensation law in Georgia can be quite complex. You can’t maximize your benefits without experienced legal representation.
Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition Atlanta is your trusted partner in Kennesaw to handle your workers’ compensation claim and get the maximum compensation for your injuries.
That is why you need to rely on our Kennesaw workers’ compensation lawyers to claim the maximum benefits from WC insurance for your injuries. Contact Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition Atlanta today at 470-518-5026 to represent your case and obtain maximum compensation for your injuries.
How Long Do I Have In Reporting A Workplace Injury In Kennesaw Georgia?
WC laws in Georgia require the injured employee to provide his/her employer with prompt notice of his/her injuries. The injured employee has 30 days from the date of the injury to notify the employer about his/her injuries. The 30-day deadline has been included in GA WC law so that the employer can investigate the injury claim while reliable evidence is still available. But you should report your injuries immediately to the employer regardless of the 30-day deadline.
You can report the incident to your employer, employer’s representative, foreman, or immediate supervisor. There is no requirement to provide notice in writing as per Georgia’s WC laws. But you need to provide as much detail as you can when reporting the accident. For example, you need to provide the following details about the accident:
- The date and time of the accident
- The location of the accident
- What were you doing at that time?
- The specific body parts that were affected
- Any witnesses to the accident
If you decide to provide a written statement of the incident, you should retain a copy of the document for your references. Failing to adhere to the 30-day deadline may result in WC benefits being denied by your employer. If your claim is denied due to not adhering to the deadline, you will lose your right to medical treatment and income benefits. That is why you need to be prompt in reporting your accident to the employer or his/her representative when you are injured on the job.
Who Do I Have To Report A Workplace Injury To?
When you have suffered workplace-related injuries, you need to immediately notify your employer about the incident. You have 30 days from the date of the accident to do so. Failing to give timely notice can result in your employer denying your rightful WC benefits.
The most important thing is to notify the right person in your organization. Your employer should give you an employee handbook or a separate document that explains how to provide notice when you are injured on the job. If not, you can give notice of the accident directly to your employer, his/her representative, or your immediate supervisor.
Even though Georgia’s WC law does not require an injured employee to provide written notice to his/her employer, giving written notice might be a good idea at times. You have proof even if your supervisor denies that you provided verbal notice of the incident. Your employer may ask you to fill out an accident report. If so, you should be honest when answering the questions and don’t exaggerate your injuries.
Employer Responsibilities After A Workplace Injury
The employer needs to act fast to provide medical assistance to the injured employee. Here are the steps that an employer should take when an employee is injured on the job.
- Seek medical assistance.
- Follow all the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) recommendations.
- Follow the steps outlined in the emergency plan for work-related accidents.
- Move other employees to safe areas.
- Get information, evidence, and photos of the incident.
- Maintain open and honest communication with the injured employee and the insurance company.
Employee Responsibility After A Workplace Injury
If you are injured on the job in Kennesaw GA, you need to follow these steps:
- Report the accident to the employer and seek medical help.
- Adhere to the deadline in reporting the incident to your employer.
- Document the injuries, accident details, and who you speak to and when.
- Take photos of the ancient if you are in a position to do so.
Call Us Today When Reporting A Work Injury In Kennesaw
Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition Atlanta is your trusted partner in Kennesaw to handle your WC claim and obtain maximum benefits for your injuries. We understand the importance of restoring your normal routine as quickly as possible after a work-related injury. Our team has extensive experience in handling workers’ compensation claims and winning millions of dollars on behalf of our clients.
We treat every client as a person and not just a number. Your case is important to us because it affects everyone in your family. When you call us to handle your WC claim, we will assign an attorney to your case. He or she will be committed to reviewing the details of your case and recommending the right way to handle the case from there onwards.
When you are injured on the job in Kennesaw GA, you are entitled to claim compensation from the WC insurance cover of your employer. You need to hire the best WC lawyer in town to handle your WC claim. Contact Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition Atlanta today at 470-518-5026 to represent your case and obtain maximum compensation for your injuries.