Workplace injuries can happen to any worker at any time on the job and reporting a work injury in Monroe is important. If you got hurt while you were working, you need to know what your rights and responsibilities are. Your injuries might prevent you from going to work, and you will incur medical expenses in treating your injuries.
Fortunately, Georgia’s workers’ compensation laws can provide you with financial and medical benefits to help you recover and return to your employment. Your employer also has an obligation to report your injuries to the workers’ compensation insurance carrier so that you can start to receive your benefits.
Ideally, the claim process will go smoothly and you will receive the benefits that you are entitled to. However, sometimes a claim might not go smoothly. If you have been hurt a work, contact our Monroe workers’ compensation lawyers for help reporting the injury and filing a claim.
At the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition, our attorneys have dealt with all types of workers’ compensation claims, and we can help you get the benefits that are owed to you.
How Long Do I Have in Reporting a Work Injury in Monroe, GA?
According to the workers’ compensation laws in Georgia, you have 30 days to report an injury that you sustained at work. However, it is not recommended that you wait that long. If you got hurt on the job, you should report it to your employer immediately. This is for your own protection in terms of getting the medical treatment that you need and getting the workers’ compensation benefits that you are entitled to.
There is no advantage to delaying your report to your employer. In fact, if you delay for too long and the 30 days lapse, you can lose your benefits. The sooner you report your injuries, the sooner your claim can be filed so you can start receiving benefits.
The other advantage to reporting your injuries right away is that when the incident is still fresh in your mind, you will remember more details about what happened. When you allow time to lapse, you may not recall as many details about the accident, details that can support your claim.
Delaying your injury report may also be misconstrued by the insurance company that your injuries are not as serious as you claim. This can affect your claim negatively. Therefore, as a rule of thumb, report your workplace injuries right away.
Who Do I Have to Report a Workplace Injury to?
When you get hurt, you should report your injury to your supervisor after your immediate medical needs are taken care of. If he is not around, then report it to the staff who was in charge of the area. The personnel or human resources department of your workplace should also be informed.
Usually, your supervisor will take care of that. If you verbally report your injury to your supervisor, it is also a good idea to follow up with an email just to confirm your conversation in writing. Include the date and time of when your injury occurred and a description of what happened.
If you belong to a union, you should also report your injuries to your union representative.
Employer Responsibilities After a Workplace Injury
After you notify your employer that you were injured on the job, they have responsibilities to assume.
Ensure Workers Get Medical Treatment
The first thing is to make sure that you are getting immediate medical treatment for your injuries. If necessary, emergency medical personnel should be called to administer immediate care to stabilize your injuries. If you do not require emergency personnel, but you need to see a doctor, your employer will tell you which doctors you should go to for your treatment.
Workers’ compensation will only cover medical treatment that are provided by medical personnel approved by your employer. If you get treatment from an unauthorized doctor, your medical costs may not be covered.
File the First Report of Injury
Your employer also fills out Part A of Form WC-1, which is the Employer’s First Report of Injury or Occupational Disease. The employer sends this form to the insurance company. If you are not able to work for more than seven days, the insurance company fills out the rest of the form to prepare your income benefits.
Your employer must file your workers’ compensation claim within one year of your injury.
Employee Responsibility After a Workplace Injury
As the injured employee, you also have responsibilities.
Report the Injury to Your Supervisor
After you take care of your immediate medical needs, you should report the incident to your supervisor. It is important that you included as many details about the incident as you can. If there were witnesses, and you trust them to be reliable, you should include their names in your report. You legally have 30 days to report your accident, but there are no advantages to waiting when the incident is still fresh in your mind.
Seek Treatment From an Approved Doctor
You should also seek medical treatment only from the doctors approved by your employer. Follow the doctor’s treatment plan and attend any therapy recommended. Keep track of your medical expenses that are related to your workplace injury and the mileage of going to and from your medical appointments. You may be able to get those expenses reimbursed.
Keep Your Employer Informed
As you are recovering, you need to keep your employer informed on when you plan to return to work. Your doctor may authorize you to return to work but with restrictions. For example, if you injured your back on the job, and you usually work in the shipping department, you might return to work with restrictions of not lifting any heavy objects.
It is your responsibility to inform your employer of any restrictions that your doctor recommended so your needs can be accommodated.
Call Us Today When Reporting a Work Injury in Monroe
Reporting a work-related injury in Monroe can get complicated. If you feel that you are not getting all of the benefits that you are entitled to, call us at the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition in Monroe, GA. We will make sure that your rights are protected and that you will get the benefits that you justly deserve.
Call 770-796-0919 or fill out our contact form to schedule a free case review.