Workplace injuries happen all the time and in virtually any job environment. No matter the job industry you work in, you can sustain a workplace injury. But, thanks to workers’ compensation insurance laws, you can recover compensation benefits for your on-the-job injury as long as your claim satisfies the criteria required for filing a Georgia workers’ compensation claim.
Filing for workers’ compensation is not something you can do on your own unless you have previous knowledge and experience or have a qualified workers’ compensation attorney who can help you through the workers’ compensation claims process in Riverdale. If you do not know any better, your employer, your employer’s insurer, or a medical practitioner can infringe your rights.
But, having a reliable Riverdale workers’ compensation lawyer in your corner can ensure you follow and meet all the necessary steps and requirements to make a valid claim. At the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition, we can help you pursue compensation benefits for your work-related injuries by guiding you through the entire workers’ compensation claims process.
If you need help filing your Riverdale workers’ compensation claim, call us today at 470-518-5026 to book a free consultation.
How Can I Know If My Injury Will Be Covered By Georgia’s Workers’ Compensation?
Georgia workers’ compensation law warrants insurance coverage for employees who get on-the-job injuries or illnesses. First of all, for insurance to cover a workers’ compensation claim, the claim must satisfy specific criteria. You deserve to get workers’ compensation benefits if your claim meets the following basic requirements:
- Your employer must have workers’ compensation insurance or be legally required to have one.
- You must be an employee and not a private contractor
- Your disease or injury must have a causal relationship with your job duties, i.e., your illness or injury must arise out of and in the course of your employment.
In Riverdale, Georgia, the following on-the-job injuries qualify as compensable injuries:
- Injuries resulting from aggravation of pre-existing conditions
- Injuries sustained at the workplace or a function sponsored by your employer
- Injuries caused by assets belonging to your employer (company-owned assets), like mechanical equipment
- Injuries or illnesses compounded by mental anguish
- Injuries or illness resulting from mental issues
- Mental injuries
- Physical trauma injuries
- Repetitive stress injuries
- Occupational injury cases including diseases caused by exposures to hazards, such as harmful chemicals, fumes, and noise pollution.
The following job-related injuries are not compensable in Riverdale:
- Horseplay injuries at work.
- Injuries resulting from drug use or intoxication.
- Injuries while traveling to and from work, except if the employer provides the transportation.
How Long Do You Have to File a Workers’ Comp Claim in Riverdale, GA?
Before filing a workers’ compensation claim, you need to report your work-related injury to your supervisor or employer unless you are 100% sure they witnessed your accident. You must inform your employer of your on-the-job injury within 30 days of your workplace accident. If you report after 30 days, you must put it in writing while citing a viable reason for the delay.
After reporting your on-the-job accident to your employer, you need to file a Georgia workers’ compensation claim. You need to file the claim within Georgia’s legal time deadline or statute of limitations. Failure to take legal action within this legal deadline may result in the loss of various rights and benefits. Employees must adhere to all notice provisions unless their employer knew about the accident.
Employees in the state of Georgia must file a notice of claim with the Workers’ Compensation Board either:
- One year from the date of the work-related accident; or
- One year from the date your employer or their insurance company last made a payment for authorized treatment; or
- Two years from the last time you received workers’ compensation income benefits.
How to File a Workers’ Comp Claim in Georgia?
If you sustain a job-related injury in Georgia, you should understand the worker’s compensation claims process in Riverdale. Once you understand how to file this claim, you must follow all the necessary steps to submit a valid claim. Here is how to file a workers’ compensation claim in Riverdale, Georgia:
Report Your Injury:
First things first, you need to inform your manager, supervisor, or employer of your injuries within 30 days of the workplace accident or incident. If your supervisor or employer did not witness the accident and you wait more than 30 days to report it, you risk losing your benefits.
Obtain a Workers’ Compensation Claim Form:
Next, you need to get a WC-14 workers’ compensation claim form. You can obtain this form by calling or writing Georgia’s State Board of Workers’ Compensation.
Complete and File the WC-14 Form:
Once you obtain the WC-14 form, you need to fill it and file it with the State Board of Workers’ Compensation in Georgia.
You then need to send a copy of the WC-14 workers’ compensation claim form to your employer and their workers’ compensation insurance company.
Finally, you can file your WC-14 form within one year of the workplace accident date to be eligible for workers’ compensation benefits under the laws of Georgia.
Keep in mind that the law guarantees you the right to appeal a denied claim by requesting a hearing in Georgia. Expect a hearing to be scheduled two months after the approval of a hearing.
Get Help With the Workers’ Compensation Claims Process in Riverdale
Thanks to the workers’ compensation scheme in Georgia, workers can receive compensation for on-the-job injuries if their claim satisfies the criteria for awarding these benefits. Unfortunately, the process is not as black and white as it may seem, and you may face challenges in your pursuit of benefits.
Besides, even minor errors in the claims process can be costly and can cause lead to a denial of your claim. This is precisely why you need a compassionate, skilled, and experienced workers’ compensation attorney to help ensure you follow all the steps correctly and meet all the requirements.
At the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition, you can trust us to help you file your workers’ compensation claim. Our lawyers will evaluate your case for free, so please don’t hesitate to contact us for help through the workers’ compensation claims process in Riverdale, Georgia. You can reach us by calling 470-518-5026 .