After an on-the-job injury, you may endure a tough time dealing with lost wages, medical bills, and visits to doctors. But, it doesn’t have to be like this. Workers’ compensation can help you recover some of your lost wages and pay your medical expenses following a workplace accident or injury. Sadly, getting workers’ benefits is not always straightforward. You have to follow some steps, including reporting a work injury in Tucker and filing a workers’ compensation claim.
At the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition in Tucker, GA, we understand that the claim process can be frustrating, especially if you don’t have prior knowledge. That is why we are dedicated to helping our clients with their workers’ compensation claims. Our lawyers are well-versed in matters concerning workers’ compensation law and the claim process. You can count on our attorneys to help you with any issues concerning your workers’ comp claim.
At the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition, we offer our initial case review for free. To schedule a meeting with a Tucker workers’ compensation lawyer, call us at 770-796-0919 or visit our online contact form.
Table of Contents
How Long Do I Have in Reporting a Work Injury in Tucker, Georgia?
When you sustain a workplace injury that puts you out of work for a week or months, you need to file a workers’ compensation claim. But, before you file your claim, you must report your Tucker workplace injury to your employer immediately.
If possible, report your on-the-job injury before you get treatment. If you need to be rushed to the hospital urgently, then alert your employer about your job-related injury as soon as you can.
In Tucker, Georgia, you have thirty days to report your workplace injury to your manager, supervisor, or employer. If you wait more than 30 days to report your injury, there’s a good chance your claim will be denied, and you could lose your right to workers’ compensation benefits.
Even with a competent lawyer, it will be difficult to prove that you were injured at work if you take too long to report your injury. Your employer may allege that you got injured elsewhere, or they might suspect that you are withholding information. Ensure you report your injury right away or within thirty days to make it easier for your attorney.
Who Do I Have to Report a Workplace Injury To?
According to the Georgia Workers’ Compensation Act (GWCA), you should report your injury to your manager, supervisor, or employer within 30 days. If you initially make a verbal report, we recommend following it up with a written report. Remember to save a copy for yourself.
Once you inform your employer about your workplace injury, they should issue you with a WC-14 workers’ compensation claim form.
Employer Responsibilities After a Workplace Injury
First and foremost, employers are responsible for preventing workplace injuries by ensuring safety in the workplace.
- Claim forms: As an employer, you are responsible for providing your injured workers with claim forms within 24 hours after an employee’s on-the-job injury.
- Completing the First Report of Injury: Employers are responsible for completing a ‘First Report of Injury or a similar document and forwarding it to their workers’ compensation insurer.
- Upholding the employee’s rights: As an employer, it’s your duty to uphold the rights of injured employees. For example, if an employee needs urgent medical attention, it’s your duty to allow them to seek medical attention.
- Cooperating with their insurance provider: It’s your responsibility as an employer to collaborate with your workers’ comp insurer and their lawyers during investigations. You may be asked to submit a copy of the injured worker’s personal file or asked to produce information about the injured employee’s payroll history. You are required to offer timely assistance wherever you can.
- Employee’s Return to Work: When an employee recovers from a workplace injury and is ready to resume employment, it’s your responsibility to welcome them back to work. You risk facing criminal charges for penalizing or terminating an employee for filing a workers’ compensation.
- Workers’ Compensation Board: Employers are responsible for helping their state workers’ compensation board prevent and curb fraud. For instance, an employer can commit workers’ compensation fraud by not providing their insurance carrier with First Reports of Injury to avoid increasing their premiums.
Employee Responsibility After a Workplace Injury
As an employee, you are required to behave responsibly in the workplace. But accidents happen. If you suffer an on-the-job injury, you are responsible for:
- Reporting the Injury: If you are hurt while on the job, you should inform your immediate supervisor or employer immediately or soon thereafter. Remember, you only have 30 days to report your on-the-job injury. Your employer must then fill out a “First Report of Injury” form, which you should review for accuracy.
- Cooperating with the insurance company: You must cooperate with the insurance company if they request you to do anything. If the insurance company asks you to undertake an independent medical examination from a doctor of their choosing, you should comply. If you decline to be examined by any other doctor other than your preferred physician, it may raise suspicions.
- Keeping precise records: Workers are responsible for maintaining accurate records throughout the claim process.
- Honesty: employees should avoid providing false or misleading information during the entire claims process.
- Drug tests: Injured employees should agree to undertake a drug test if requested.
Call Us Today When Reporting a Work Injury in Tucker
Workers’ compensation claims in Georgia can be complicated. You might have to deal with common pitfalls like uncooperative witnesses, denied claims, and intimidation from employers. Before you report your work-related injury, call the lawyers at the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition in Tucker, Georgia, for guidance and expert representation.
You deserve workers’ compensation benefits after suffering an injury while on the clock. We can help you get the benefits you are entitled to through our vast knowledge and experience. We will ensure that you follow all the procedures, from reporting your injury to filing the claim in a timely manner.
Call the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition in Tucker, Georgia at 770-796-0919 or fill out our online form. We will not charge you anything for our initial consultation, so do not hesitate to call us.