If you have been injured in the workplace, it can be difficult to know exactly how to proceed. A workplace accident may mean that you can’t continue your professional operations and are most likely facing a high cost of medical attention. The financial implications of this situation may seem unbearable, but don’t lose hope.
It is important to know that suffering an injury on the job does not mean you will have to go without your paycheck. Worker’s Compensation Benefits are available to help you in this crisis.
But it will be important to follow the proper procedures to ensure you receive the benefits available for you. This includes reporting a work-related injury in Carrollton, GA.
Table of Contents
How Long Do I Have in Reporting a Work-Related Injury in Carrollton, Georgia?
The first thing to do will be to properly report your injuries to your employer. You should know that there is a time limit to report your accident and injuries. The deadline for reporting your injury to your employer is 30 days.
This 30-day notice exists to allow your employer to conduct a thorough investigation into the injury claim while the evidence is still available for examination. Failure to report your injury within this time frame can mean that you forego your right to worker’s compensation.
If you have suffered an injury in an accident, the clock begins counting down from the moment the accident occurred and the injuries sustained. But if you are suffering from an occupational hazard or repetitive motion injury, such as carpal tunnel syndrome, the countdown begins from the moment you were made aware of the condition, or the moment it was diagnosed by a medical professional.
Even though you have a full 30 days to report your injury, we recommend reporting the incident to your employer, foreman, or supervisor immediately.
Who Do I Have to Report a Workplace Injury to?
If you have suffered an injury in the workplace, the first thing to do once your physical condition permits is to report the injury to your employer. This report should be made with your immediate supervisor, foreman, or your employer. This person may provide you with an employee handbook that outlines the proper procedure for reporting workplace injuries.
It is not required by Georgia Law that you make this report in writing, but it could be a good idea. There have been cases where employers have denied receiving a verbal injury report and a written report provides documentation that supports your story.
Employer Responsibilities After A Workplace Injury
If an employee has been injured on the job, the employer should follow the following steps.
Provide Medical Attention
Make sure the injured employee receives proper medical attention. Call 911, or get the employee to the emergency room of a hospital as fast as possible.
Follow OSHA Recommendations
Occupational Safety and Health Administration requires employers to report work-related injuries. Employee death and hospitalization must be reported within 8 hours and amputations and eye-loss must be reported within 24 hours.
Review Emergency Plans
Follow the steps you have outlined in preparation for such an event. If you don’t have a plan in place, you should consider creating a contingency plan to protect against these events in the future.
See to the Safety of Other Employees
If one employee has been injured, other employees could potentially be in danger as well. Make sure the rest of your employee staff has been safely removed from any hazardous conditions or locations.
Review the Incident
After an employee has been injured in the workplace, it will be important to review the severity of the incident and what caused the injury. This provides a clearer plan on what to do next.
Get Information, Evidence, and Photos
Be sure to carefully document all aspects of the incident and injury. This will mean collecting photos and speaking with other employees who may have witnessed the events that occurred.
Maintain Open Communication
It will be imperative to keep a clear line of communication with the injured employee throughout the claims process.
Employee’s Responsibilities Following a Workplace Accident
The employee handbook and information posted on the SBWC website provides the following information for employees who have suffered a workplace accident:
Report Your Injury Within 30 Days
the most important responsibility will be to report the incident and injury to your supervisor or employer within 30 days. Waiting too long can void your chance to collect worker’s compensation.
Make sure you have included the following pointers in your report:
- Date and time of the incident
- The location where the incident took place
- What you were doing at the time of the incident
- Immediate symptoms of the injury
- Specific body parts that were affected
- Names of coworkers, supervisors, or anyone else who witnessed the incident
See a Certified WC/MCO Physician
if you have suffered a workplace injury, it is essential that you have your injury evaluated by a medical professional with Workers’ Compensation/Managed Care Organization (WC/MCO) certification. You can find a list of WC/MCO physicians in the SBWC handbook. Furthermore, your employer is required to post at least six WC/MCO physicians in the employee handbook.
File Your Workers’ Compensation Claim
After you have reported your injury to your employer or supervisor, you must file your claim for worker’s compensation. This will require filling out the WC-14 form and submitting this to the State Board of Worker’s Compensation. A copy of this form should also be given to your employer and their worker’s compensation provider. It is also a good idea to fill out a copy for your own personal records.
Contact a Carrollton Workers’ Comp Lawyer
As you can imagine, addressing all of these details within 30 days can be a considerably difficult task especially when you are facing an injury. You will find that contacting a qualified worker’s compensation lawyer can help.
At the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition in Carrollton, GA, we have years of experience assisting our clients with workers’ compensation claims. Contact us at 470-518-5026 today to discuss your case.