Millions of workplace injuries occur across the United States each year. In 2019, 2.8 out of every 100 workers reported on-the-job illness and injuries. If you’re suffering from a work-related medical condition, you may be entitled to receive workers’ compensation benefits in Clarkdale, GA.
The laws surrounding worker’s comp cases are complex, which is why you’ll want to work with a Clarkdale workers’ compensation lawyer throughout this process. At the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition, we can evaluate your case, help you through this process, and collect the maximum benefits for you.
Call 470-518-5026 to set up a free case review!
Table of Contents
Georgia Worker’s Compensation Income Limits
In Georgia, the compensation rate is determined by the income of the injured party at the time of the injury. Workers will receive 66% of their average weekly wage. The Workers’ Compensation Act covers many types of injuries, including short-term injuries and permanent disability.
There is a maximum compensation rate that will vary based on the year the injury occurred. For injuries that took place after July 1, 2019, the maximum weekly benefit is $675.00. The statute of limitations for worker’s compensation claims in Georgia is one year from the date the injury occurred.
Types of Workers’ Compensation Benefits in Clarkdale, GA
Not all work-related medical conditions are the same, and because of that, there are several different types of workers’ compensation benefits that are available to workers in Georgia. You can find a brief overview of these benefits below.
Temporary Total Disability Benefits in GA Worker’s Comp (TTD)
If you suffer a work-related injury that renders you unable to work for over seven days, you are entitled to receive temporary benefits from that point on. The benefits will continue until you are able to return to work.
If your injury keeps you from your job for more than 21 days, you are also entitled to receive retroactive benefits for the first seven days of work that you missed. You could lose eligibility for TTD if you refuse an offer of work that is consistent with your rehabilitation plan.
Temporary Partial Disability Benefits in GA Worker’s Comp (TPD)
If you sustain an injury that does not prevent you from working but leaves you unable to perform a job that provides the same pay as the job you had prior to your accident, you may be eligible for TPD. TPD will provide you with 66% of the difference between your mean income before and after the accident.
You may be able to receive up to 350 weeks of TPD benefits starting from the date of your disease or injury. Workers may be eligible to receive TPD even if their wages were inconsistent before the injury. Benefits must be provided within 10 days of when a worker or employer provides wage verification.
Permanent Partial Disability Benefits in GA Workers Comp (PPD)
PPD is designed to provide compensation to workers that have permanently lost the function of a body part. The payments awarded will vary based on the severity of the injury. In some cases, workers may qualify for both PPD and TPD. In these scenarios, workers can choose the benefits that they want to receive.
In Georgia, only certain types of injuries qualify for PPD benefits. Back, leg, feet, toe, arm, hand, finger, ear, and eye injuries may all be eligible. Internal organ injuries may qualify as well. A doctor must substantiate the injury and the degree of impairment.
Permanent Total Disability Benefits in GA Worker’s Comp (PTD)
If a job-related injury leaves you permanently disabled, and you are no longer able to work, you may be eligible to receive 66% of your mean income before the injury for the rest of your life. Disability payments will begin from the date of your injury and may be received retroactively.
This category of injuries is designed to protect workers that have sustained severe, life-changing injuries. For example, a worker may be eligible to receive PTD if they permanently lost the use of their legs or were blinded on the job. The injury must be serious enough that it keeps the worker from employment in any field.
How Are Georgia Worker’s Compensation Benefits Calculated?
In Georgia, benefits will be calculated based on the worker’s mean weekly wage at the time of injury. As mentioned previously, workers will receive 66% of their average weekly income. Once the compensation benefits have been calculated, it will remain the same for as long as the worker receives benefits.
If you believe that your compensation benefits were calculated incorrectly, you should talk to an experienced worker’s compensation attorney at the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition. We can evaluate your case and can help you to claim additional benefits if you are eligible.
Are Worker’s Compensation Benefits in Georgia Taxed?
Worker’s compensation benefits in Georgia are not taxed by either the state or federal government. According to IRS Publication 525 Taxable and Nontaxable Income, compensation paid under the worker’s compensation act is fully exempt from tax. However, this exemption is not applicable to retirement benefits, even if a worker retires because of their illness or injury.
If a worker opts to return to light-duty or modified work, the TPD benefits they are receiving will not be taxed, but the wages they receive from their employer will still be taxable. If a worker is offered a structured settlement from a workers’ compensation insurance company, those payments will not be taxed.
Contact Our Clarkdale Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Today
A workplace accident can have devastating financial consequences. Not only do injured workers have to cover medical bills, but injuries and illnesses can lead to loss of wages. If you’re entitled to receive workers’ compensation benefits in Clarkdale, GA, you’ll want to have the experienced team at the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition on your side.
Our team is very familiar with the worker’s compensation laws in Georgia. We’ll use put our expertise to good use and will recover the maximum benefits for you as swiftly as possible. Don’t try to navigate your worker’s comp case on your own. Call us at 470-518-5026 so that you can get the help you need.