If you or a family member has been injured or killed at work, you may be entitled to some form of compensation. By law, you’re entitled to file a workers’ compensation claim for workplace injuries. It’s important to call an experienced Clarkston workers’ compensation lawyer. They will help you with reporting a work injury in Clarkston, GA, and filing your claim.
In the state of Georgia, you have 1 year from the date of the injury or illness in which to file your claim. You’ll need to report your injury within 30 days to ensure that you’ll receive the compensation that is due to you for your injuries or illness. It can be challenging at best to deal with insurance companies after being injured or becoming ill. Leave this to the professionals so that you can concentrate on your recovery.
Give the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition a call at 770-796-0919 today and start the process of your claim. You may be entitled to lost wages, future lost wages, medical bills, pain and suffering, and more. The sooner you call the sooner you can begin to recover. You don’t have to do this alone, call us today for a free case review.
Table of Contents
How Long Do I Have in Reporting a Work Injury in Clarkston, Georgia?
In the state of Georgia, you have 1 year from the date of your injury or illness in which to file your claim. You must report your injury or illness within 30 days of the date of your injury or you risk losing out on compensation that may be due to you for your injury or illness.
The best thing to do is to call our team at the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition and have us file on your behalf. It’s also important to let supervisors know of the injury or illness as soon as possible. Your workplace should have a procedure in place for reporting such incidents. Make sure that you follow the line of command to ensure that you’re entitled to all compensation that may be due to you for your injuries or illness.
Who Do I Have to Report a Workplace Injury To?
Report your injury or illness to your workplace supervisor as soon as possible after your injury or illness. The sooner you report the incident the sooner you can receive medical attention. Many companies have a policy that requires such incidents to be reported within a specific time limit or at the time of the incident.
Make sure to ask your employer prior to your need to report such an incident so that you’re familiar with the process. Different companies will have different procedures for such reporting. While one company may require a verbal report, most will require a written report and perhaps specific forms to be filled out.
Employer Responsibilities After a Workplace Injury
In the state of Georgia, the workplace is required to post six physicians that the employee can call in regards to their workplace illness or injury. Unless it’s a life or death situation, it’s preferred that the employee see one of these physicians. Employers must follow the specifics of their insurance company so employees must honor this in regards to emergency medical care.
Employee Responsibility After a Workplace Injury
In the state of Georiga, employees who are injured or become ill at the workplace need to file their claim within 30 days of their injury or illness. There are 3 steps that are required by the employee if they are injured or become ill at the workplace.
- Step 1: Report the injury or illness to their supervisor and fill out any required paperwork within 30 days of the injury.
- Step 2: Seek medical attention with a Workers Compensation or a Managed Care Organization. There should be a list of at least six such physicians on the wall somewhere in the workplace to assist employees in finding one of these physicians. In order for you to be eligible for Workers’ Compensation, you must see only one of the Workers’ Compensation or Managed Care Organization physicians. If you don’t, you may not be eligible for a Workers’ Compensation Claim.
- Step 3: File your claim. It’s wise to use an attorney who is experienced in Workers’ Compensation claims to do this like the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition in Clarkston, GA. The sooner you file your claim the sooner you’ll be eligible for compensation for your lost wages, injuries, medical, and pain and suffering. Don’t delay, call 770-796-0919 today and get your claim started before your time limit is over.
Call the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition Today
If you or someone you love has been injured or become ill while at your workplace, you may be entitled to compensation for some or all of your medical bills and lost wages. It’s important that you follow your workplace procedure for any injuries or illnesses that happen while you’re at work. In the case of a death of an employee, their family may be entitled to some form of compensation as well.
Make sure to document the injuries or illness and report it within 30 days to the company supervisor. Follow all workplace procedures for the reporting of such injuries to supervisors and physicians. Make sure that the physician called is one that is on the list posted at the workplace otherwise the claim may be denied.
You have plenty going on with your recovery so be sure to call a professional attorney with the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition at 770-796-0919 and have them help you to file your claim. The sooner you file, the sooner you’ll be eligible for compensation. Your compensation may include lost wages, medical bills, pain and suffering, and more.