Workers’ compensation is a form of coverage that’s mandated by the government to provide financial benefits to employees who sustain injuries or get sick while at work. Reporting a work injury in Fayetteville, GA in a timely manner and hiring the right professionals can make a big difference in your case.
Workers’ compensation benefits are awarded to cover lost wages and medical expenses of those who get injured or fall ill and find themselves unable to work for an extended period. According to Georgia law, companies or businesses with at least 3 employees (both full-time and part-time) are expected to purchase workers’ compensation insurance.
Unfortunately, the laws surrounding workers’ compensation are not always straightforward and you might find yourself confused and overwhelmed when making a claim or reporting a work-related injury. The process becomes even more distressing when the employer or insurance company decides to deny or dispute the claim.
In such situations, it is best to look for a seasoned Fayetteville workers’ compensation lawyer to ensure that you not only file properly and on time, but that your rights are protected and get the compensation you deserve.
If you are a worker in Fayetteville, Georgia, and are looking to start a workers’ claim process, call the Workers’ Compensation Coalition at 470-518-5026 to know the benefits you are entitled to.
Table of Contents
How Long Do You Have to Report a Work Injury in Fayetteville, GA?
According to the Georgia Workers’ Compensation Act, an injured worker should give their boss or the relevant party a prompt notice when they sustain injury from a work-related accident. To be more specific, the act dictates that employees who sustain injuries or fall ill while at work have 30 days from the date of the injury to notify their employer.
This time period is included in Georgia workers’ compensation law to give employers adequate time to look into the accident while the evidence is still fresh and determine whether the claim is valid.
Failure to notify your employer within this period increases your chances of losing your right to workers’ compensation benefits. The sooner you report the injury or illness, the more likely you are to get approved for benefits. So, get a Fayetteville workers’ compensation lawyer as soon as possible and start building your case.
Who Do You Report a Workplace Injury To?
If you have fallen ill at the workplace or experienced an accident that resulted in severe injuries, it is important that you be prompt when reporting the incident to your employer. If they are absent, you should report it to their representative, your foreman, or supervisor.
What Are the Employer Responsibilities After a Workplace Injury?
Every employer is expected to provide a safe workplace, even before a work-related injury. In case of an accident that results in injury, the employer should garner all information related to the incident. These details should then be forwarded to the insurance provider.
In accordance with Georgia’s workers’ compensation act, the employers should inform the insurance carriers of work-related injuries, regardless of the extent. After reporting the incident, the insurance provider is expected to report the injury to the Occupational Health and Safety Administration within 24 hours.
In addition, the employer is expected to pick a practitioner from their panel of physicians to serve as the care provider for the employee who sustained an injury or fell ill. If necessary, they should send the worker to an approved specialist for additional medical assessment.
What Are Employee Responsibilities Following an Injury?
After suffering a work-related injury in Fayetteville, GA, you should do the following:
Seek Medical Attention
As an employee, you should make sure you get proper medical attention immediately after the accident. Make an appointment with a doctor that’s approved by your employer. This will increase your chances of receiving workers’ compensation benefits.
Seeking treatment from a practitioner, other than the one approved by your employer or the insurance carrier, only improves the chances of a claim denial or dispute.
Notify Your Employer
When a work-related injury occurs, there are a number of things that you should do in order to protect your rights to get workers’ compensation benefits. Forst and foremost, it is your responsibility to report the injury to the relevant party in a timely fashion.
It is advisable to report the injury immediately and avoid waiting until the 30-day limit passes.
File a Claim
If you have suffered a workplace injury or occupational illness, you’re also required by the law to file a WC-14 form and submit it to the State Board of Workers’ Compensation. You should also send a copy of the same to your employer and their insurance provider.
You should also keep records of your workers’ comp claim. This includes a copy of the Form-18 filed with the State Board of Workers’ Comp as well as one filed with their insurance company.
Update Your Employer
As an employee, it’s also your responsibility to keep your employer updated. For example, if the physician asks you to take some time off, you should put it into writing and submit it to the employer. If they ask you to get off work indefinitely, you should tell your employer the same.
Why Get an Attorney When Reporting a Work Injury in Fayetteville, GA?
It’s important to have an experienced lawyer by your side before starting a workers’ compensation process in Georgia for an array of reasons. For starters, they will guide you throughout the process and help you avoid common mistakes.
In addition, an experienced lawyer will make sure that your rights to get workers’ compensation benefits are protected and also represent you in front of the Administrative Judge if your claim is disputed or denied on unjust grounds.
Hire a Workers’ Compensation Lawyer Today!
There is no denying that workers’ compensation can be tricky, especially when the injury is not clear or the employer tries to deny it. If you want to protect your rights and get fair compensation, it is advisable to hire a workers’ comp lawyer from the get-go.
Our team is always available to help Fayetteville workers protect their rights by helping them through the claims process. Before you report your injury to the employer, reach out to Workers’ Compensation Lawyer Coalition in Fayetteville by calling 470-518-5026 for legal advice.