Even though there are thousands of workplace injuries each year, most people don’t expect to be injured on the job. You may not be familiar with the process for reporting a work-related injury in Johns Creek, GA, and unfortunately, that lack of knowledge could lead to your workers’ compensation claim being denied.
Thankfully, you don’t have to do this on your own. Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition in Johns Creek, GA can make sure you meet deadlines and complete the appropriate forms so that you’re able to collect your benefits as soon as possible.
Table of Contents
How Long Do I Have In Reporting A Workplace Injury In Johns Creek Georgia?
If you’ve been injured on the job, you’ll want to report that injury to your employer as soon as you can. While you have 30 days to report work-related injuries, it’s been to report sudden injuries immediately. If you report your injury quickly, you won’t just be able to get access to the medical benefits you need. You’ll also be able to establish that the injury occurred while you were carrying out work-related duties.
If you sustain a repetitive strain injury, like carpal tunnel syndrome, your injury should be reported within 30 days of your diagnosis. Although reporting a work-related injury in Johns Creek right away can improve your credibility, your employer cannot require that injuries be reported in less than 30 days.
It can be difficult to collect workers’ compensation benefits for an injury if the injury is not reported within that 30-day window. In most cases, it will lead to the claim being denied. Because of this, it’s important to report all injuries that occur on the job, even if the injuries appear to be minor. In many cases, injuries are more serious than they initially appear to be.
While your injury must be reported right away, you’ll have more time to file a workers’ compensation claim. For most injuries, you’ll have a full year from the date the injury was reported to file. In cases where you are able to continue to work after your injury or have received employer-provided medical treatment for your injury, the time limit to file will be extended.
Who Do I Have To Report A Workplace Injury To?
In most cases, you will be expected to report your injury to your direct supervisor. Some employers have different policies about who you are expected to report your injury to. Your employee handbook should provide information about company guidelines for reporting a work-related injury in Johns Creek.
Georgia law does not require that you provide your employer with written notice of your injury, but there are advantages to providing written notice rather than verbal notice. By notifying your employer of your injury in writing, you can document when the injury was reported as well as what was reported to your employer.
Employer Responsibilities After A Workplace Injury
According to the Workers’ Compensation Act, employers are expected to provide swift benefits to employees that sustain work-related injuries. Carrying out this responsibility shields employers from tort liability for workplace injuries.
After an employee reports an injury to an employer, the employer is expected to provide them with a WC-1 First Report of Injury form so that the employee can file a workers’ compensation claim. Once an employee turns in a completed copy of the form, the employer should provide them with a copy for their personal records.
In addition, employers are expected to complete their own First Report of Injury form and forward the completed form to their workers’ compensation insurance provider. Employers should provide workers with information about authorized medical providers so that the employee can receive treatment for their injuries.
If an employee returns to work after an injury, employers are expected to provide reasonable accommodations so that the employee can work while recovering. Employers cannot fire or retaliate against employees for reporting an injury. Employers that fail to meet these responsibilities may be fined, and employees may have the right to take legal action against them.
Employee Responsibility After A Workplace Injury
It is your responsibility to report your injury in a timely manner and to provide detailed information about the nature of your injury. When completing a report, you should mention the time and date that the injury occurred, as well as the names of anyone that may have witnessed the injury.
If your employer requests that you fill out an accident report, you do not need to do so immediately. If you are in pain from your injury or are on medication, you may want to wait until you are confident that you can complete the report accurately. You should be honest when completing the report and should avoid responding to questions that you don’t know the answer to.
You will be expected to seek appropriate medical care and will need to attend all doctor’s appointments. Failure to attend these appointments could cast suspicion on your claim. Furthermore, if your employer can establish that you are not seeking appropriate treatment for your injury, you could be denied benefits.
Your employer has the right to ask you to submit to a drug or alcohol screening after an injury. While you are allowed to refuse the test, failing to take the test can create a presumption of guilt, making it more difficult for you to have your claim approved.
Call Us Today When Reporting A Work-Related Injury In Johns Creek
If you’ve sustained a work injury in Johns Creek, you’ll want to make sure that you’re able to focus on your recovery. If you receive benefits right away, you’ll be able to seek treatment for your injury. Benefits can also lessen the impact an injury can have on your finances.
Unfortunately, collecting the benefits that you’re owed isn’t always an easy process. Many people aren’t familiar with the steps they need to go through in order to report an injury and file a claim. With tight time limits, it’s important to act fast. Call Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition today at 770-796-0919 so that we can start the fight for your benefits.