Georgia’s workers’ compensation, also referred to as workers’ comp, is a no-fault insurance program that is designed to provide benefits to workers injured while on the job. These benefits are meant to cover medical expenses, lost wages, vocational rehabilitation, disability benefits, and death benefits.
‘No-fault’ means that, unlike other types of personal injury, you don’t have to prove that anyone was at fault for the incident that led to your injuries.
While this essentially makes it easier for you to receive benefits, insurance companies are rarely willing to pay out the full and fair amount that you deserve, which is why they will come up with reasons to deny your claim or reduce the amount they have to pay as much as possible.
This is why it is crucial that you consult an experienced Marietta workers’ compensation attorney as soon as possible if you have been harmed as a result of a workplace accident or as a result of your job.
An attorney will guide you on how to best handle your workers’ compensation claim and also fight for you to ensure that you get the full and fair compensation that you deserve for your injuries. Call us today to learn more about your case and to ensure the best outcome.
Table of Contents
How Long Do I Have To Report A Workplace Injury In Marietta Georgia?
If you have been injured while on the job in the state of Georgia, there are certain deadlines that you have to meet in order to remain eligible to recover benefits. The first deadline is in reporting your workplace injury.
Under Georgia’s workers’ compensation laws, an injured worker is expected to promptly notify their employer of the workplace injury, and more specifically within 30 days of suffering the injury.
If this time period lapses and you haven’t yet informed your employer of the injury, you can lose your rights to legally pursue benefits. The 30 days are meant to give your employer ample time to conduct their own investigation into the accident and subsequent injuries and take necessary action.
Who Do I Have To Report A Work Injury To?
As discussed above, in the event that you are injured on the job due to a workplace accident or develop an occupational illness, you are supposed to report the injury or work-related illness as soon as possible (within 30 days) to your employer.
If you can’t reach your employer, then you need to report the injury to their representative or your supervisor. It is worth noting that in cases where your supervisor or employer is present at the scene at witnesses the accident, your injury is considered as reported.
What are the Responsibilities of an Employer After a Workplace Accident?
All employers have a general responsibility of maintaining a safe working environment for their employees to minimize the chances of an injury. In the event one of their employees is injured on the job, the employer is required to conduct swift investigations and gather all the facts in regards to the accident. These facts should then be submitted to the insurance company.
Under Georgia law, an employer should report an employee’s injury to their insurance company regardless of how minor the injury may seem.
The employer reports the injury to their insurance company by submitting a document known as ‘First Report of Injury. In this document, your employer may also include any concerns they may have as to whether your claims are valid or the injury is work-related.
Once the insurance company has been notified of the injury, the insurance company should then report the injury to the Occupational Health and Safety Administration within 24 hours.
Your employer is also expected to ensure that you receive medical attention by providing you with a list of their approved medical providers. You are allowed to choose any care provider from the list.
You should avoid using your own personal doctor as this may compromise your chances of receiving benefits.
What are the Responsibilities of an Employee After a Workplace Accident?
After suffering a workplace accident, there are some important things you need to do to protect your right to receive benefits as well as your wellbeing.
Report the Accident
If you haven’t suffered an injury requiring emergency care and treatment, your first step should be to notify your employer of the accident. While you have 30 days to do so, it is always wise to do so as soon as possible.
Seek Medical Treatment
Your next most important step is to seek medical attention. If you fail to get medical treatment quickly enough, your employer or their insurance company may have grounds to claim that your injuries aren’t as serious as you claim or they might have been caused by other factors not related to your job.
To avoid this, ensure you seek medical treatment as soon as possible. Remember, you should only seek medical treatment from a medical care provider approved by your employer and their insurance company. Your employer or their insurance company should provide you with a list of authorized doctors.
File a Claim
In order to recover workers’ compensation benefits, you need to complete a WC-14 form, also known as Notice of Claim, with the State Board of Workers’ Compensation in Georgia.
Keep a Record of al Reports
For your own benefit, you need to ensure that you keep a safe record of copies of all reports filed during the process. This includes the First Report of Injury and WC-14 form.
Keep Your Employer Up-to-Date
You should notify your employer of any developments in regards to your treatment. For example, if your care provider asks that you get more specialized care or take time off work.
Call A Marietta Workers’ Compensation Attorney When Reporting A Work Injury in Georgia
If you’ve suffered a Marietta workplace injury, you need to contact an experienced workers’ compensation lawyer as soon as possible. There are many honest errors that you can make when reporting your work injury that can end up hurting your chances of receiving benefits.
An attorney will help guide you through the process, ensuring that everything is done according to procedure and within set deadlines. In addition, an attorney knows what kind of evidence to gather to have a solid claim. An attorney will ensure that your rights to full compensation are protected.
Get Professional Legal Help Today
If you’ve suffered a workplace accident or developed an occupational illness, you need to seek professional legal help as soon as possible. While Georgia’s Workers’ Compensation Laws are designed to financially protect you in case of a workplace accident, insurance companies don’t always make it easy for you to receive your owed compensation.
To protect your rights and ensure that you get the full benefits that you deserve, you need the help of an experienced attorney at the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition. Call us today to properly initiate the process of recovering your workers’ compensation benefits.