It’s not just lumberyards and construction sites that are fraught with accidents. Workplace injuries can happen anywhere. No matter how careful you and your employer are in keeping your workplace free from hazards, injuries can occur for many unexpected reasons. But what can you do if you are hurt? The first step is reporting a work injury in Peachtree City.
At the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition, we are the experts in workplace injuries in Peachtree City and we fully understand how to handle these unexpected occurrences and secure worker’s compensation for the injured employee. If you have suffered an accident within the scope of your professional duties, call us up to get professional help in this surprisingly complex matter. Call 470-518-5026 today and arrange a meeting with our skilled worker’s comp lawyers in Peachtree City, GA.
How Long Do I Have to Report Work Injuries in Peachtree City, Georgia?
Once you have been injured you will face a variety of important details and time limits that must be observed if you hope to get your rightful compensation. For example, there is a time limit in which you will need to report the injury to your employer so that they can get started on your claims process.
In Georgia, the time limit for reporting your workplace injury is 30 days. But most employers will prefer being notified much sooner than that and ask that injured employees notify them within 24 to 48 hours.
If you don’t submit your injury report to your employee within this 30-day time frame, you run the risk of not getting any compensation for your injury. You should know that the time period in which you will have to make your report begins the day of the incident that caused the injuries.
If you are suffering an occupational illness caused by the environment or activities you are subjected to within the scope and context of your work, this 30-day time limit begins counting down from the moment you found out about the condition; the moment a qualified doctor diagnosed your condition.
Who Should I Report My Workplace Injury to?
The first thing you will need to do after being injured in the workplace will be to have your injuries examined and treated by an approved medical professional. This doctor will provide a treatment plan as well as the recommended time excused from work while you recover from your injuries. The diagnosis and recovery plan will contain important information that your employer will need for beginning the claims process.
The next most important task will be making your report to your employer. While there is no law that states the report must be written and you can make a verbal report to your employer, there are some good reasons for making this report in written form, for example, in an email. For one, it will provide your employer with an at-a-glance report with all the information they need to make their own reports and begin the claims process.
Another good reason to make this report in written form is that employers can be very busy people and they forget or claim that you never made a report. A written report will provide proof that this important step of the process was indeed made.
Employer Responsibilities After a Workplace Injury
Once your employer has received the report of an injury occurring in their workplace, they will be required to take some important steps to begin the claims process.
Record and Report the Injury
There are requirements set down by OSHA (Occupational Health and Safety Administration) for reporting and recording all accidents and subsequent injuries that occur in the workplace. For example, the employer is required to contact OSHA within 8 hours of receiving the report of injury if it results in hospitalization or death. If the injury resulted in amputation or the loss of an eye the report must be made within 24 hours.
Report the Injury to Their Insurance Carrier
Your employer will be responsible to make a report with their insurance provider as well as file the WC-1 Form, also known as the Employer’s First Report of Injury or Occupational Disease. If you have delivered your report of injury in the workplace, you should also ask your employer to provide you a copy of this form when they have prepared it so you can keep it in your personal records. Your employer has 21 days to make this report to their insurance provider or they may face penalties.
Maintain Communications With the Injured Employee
Your employer is also required to keep Communications with you after they have received your injury report. It is important that they keep you regularly updated with what is happening with the worker’s compensation claim and process.
Employee’s Responsibilities After a Workplace Accident
Obtain medical treatment from an Approved Medical Professional — the injured employee is required to have their injuries or medical condition examined by an approved physician. You will find a list of approved medical professionals posted in your workplace. If not, you can ask your employer or the HR department to provide you with this list.
Report the Injury to Their Employer
As mentioned above, the injured employee is required to report their injury to their employer within 30-days of the injury or diagnosis of any occupational condition.
File Claim with the SBWC (State Board of Worker’s Compensation)
To do this you will need to get your hands on the WC-14 form, which can be found on the SBWC Website or requested from your employer or HR department. Make sure you have filled out three forms with identical information. One will go to the SWBC, another is for your employer and the last should be kept in your personal records.
Double Check that Your Employer’s Insurance Carrier Has Been Properly Notified
Even though it is your employer’s responsibility to keep you notified of the claims process with their insurance carrier, you should take it on yourself to make sure things are happening. You can get the contact information of the claims adjuster handling your claim from your employer or your HR department.
Call Us When Reporting a Work Injury in Peachtree City, Georgia
If you have suffered a workplace injury, this is not a time to take chances with your recovery. We at the Workers’ Compensation Lawyer Coalition, invite you to rely on our expert legal team to face the complexities of worker’s compensation in Peachtree City, GA. Call 470-518-5026 and arrange a FREE consultation with our Peachtree City attorneys.