Workplace accidents happen all the time, especially in the construction, transportation, retail, and health care industries. If you experience an injury while performing your duties at work, you are eligible for benefits under the workers’ compensation act.
Workers’ compensation is a form of coverage that provides financial benefits to employees who sustain injuries or fall ill while at work. These benefits are designed to cover the lost wages and medical costs of ill or injured employees who may find themselves off their jobs for an extended period.
Unfortunately, many workers don’t know how to go about reporting a work injury in Redan, a vital step in ensuring you get the benefits you deserve. In Georgia, companies with at least three workers are expected to provide financial benefits to injured or sick employees.
However, workers’ compensation claims are not always a walk in the park as some employers, and insurance companies may try to dispute or deprive employers of their full benefits. That’s why it’s important to ensure you have a competent Redan workers’ compensation lawyer by your side when reporting a work-related injury.
If you want to start the claims process in Redan, GA, call the Workers’ Compensation Lawyer Coalition at 470-518-5026 for a free case review and consultation.
How Long Do You Have in Reporting a Work Injury in Redan?
According to Georgia’s Workers Comp Act, injured employees are expected to provide prompt notice to their employers regarding the accident, injury or illness. The law mandates that you do this within 30 days of the accident. Keep in mind that failure to provide a formal notice within this period voids your right to get workers’ compensation benefits.
Who Should You Report a Work-Related Injury To?
If you have sustained an injury or fallen ill during the course of your employment, it’s important to report it to your employer in a timely fashion. If the employer is absent, you should report it to your supervisor or their representative.
Employer Responsibilities After a Workplace Injury
Even before you sustain an injury, your employer is expected to provide safe working conditions. In case of an injury, they are expected to garner all the facts about the incident. This information should then be shared with their insurance carrier. This applies to both major and minor injuries.
After reporting the workplace injury to the insurance provider, they are supposed to report the injury to the Occupational Health & Safety Administration within 24 hours. Also, employers should make sure the injured gets medical treatment following the accident. This is achieved by providing a list of practitioners on their panel of physicians.
Employee Responsibilities After a Work-Related Injury
As an employee, your responsibilities in a workers’ comp claim are as follows:
Notify Your Employer
When a work-related injury happens, there are several things you need to do in order to protect your right to receive monetary benefits. First and foremost, it is your responsibility to report the injury in a timely fashion. As mentioned earlier, the law requires you to do this within 30 days.
Seek Medical Attention
Next, you should make sure you get medical attention following the accident, whether the injury is major or minor. You should make an appointment with an approved physician, as directed by your employer or their insurance carrier.
Keep in mind that seeking treatment from another doctor, other than one in your employer’s panel of physicians could see you lose the right to get workers’ compensation benefits.
File a Worker’ Comp Claim
If you have sustained an injury while performing your duties at work, you are also required to complete and file Form WC-14 with the State Board of Workers’ Compensation in Georgia. Ideally, a copy of the file should be sent to your employer, as well as, their insurance carrier.
Update Your Employer
It is also important to keep your employer updated. If the physician asks you to take some time off, for instance, you should put it in writing and submit it to the employer. If the practitioner asks you to go off work indefinitely, ensure you update your boss and ask how often they require you to call in.
Keeping certain reports of your workers’ compensation claim safe is another important responsibility on the employee’s part. You should ask your boss for a copy of the report they filed with the insurance company. Ideally, ensure you keep a copy of the WC-14 Form filed with the State Board of Workers’ Compensation.
Why Hire a Workers’ Compensation Lawyer?
Before you initiate the workers’ comp claims process in Redan, it is advisable to reach out to a competent and seasoned workers’ comp lawyer. An ideal attorney will guide you through the murky waters of workers’ compensation, and help you avoid common pitfalls in the claims process.
Working with a lawyer from the Workers’ Compensation Coalition in Redan will help ensure your right to receive the benefits you deserve is protected. In addition, our team will represent you and make sure that your claim is not denied or disputed unfairly.
Call Us When Reporting a Work Injury in Redan
Workers’ comp is a compulsory form of coverage for any company with three or more employees. It is designed to protect workers financially in case of work-related injuries or occupational diseases. Those who sustain injuries or fall sick in the course of employment qualify for workers’ comp benefits.
It’s not uncommon for workers’ compensation claims to become contentious as employers or insurance companies may provide varying reasons to deny or dispute your claim. With a competent lawyer by your side, you can help avoid this and ensure you get all your workers’ comp benefits.
If you have sustained an injury in your workplace and would like to make a claim, do not hesitate to contact the Workers’ Compensation Lawyer Coalition in Redan by calling 470-518-5026 ! This will help ensure you know your legal options and protect your rights.