Are you looking for workers’ compensation benefits in Redan, Georgia, due to your work-related injuries? Workers’ compensation is a no-fault insurance plan that offers benefits to employees who have been injured on the job. This is an insurance cover that offers medical expenses, lost wages, disability benefits, and even death benefits.
Although this is the case, both the insurance company and the employer are not always willing to give the worker the compensation benefit they are rightfully owed.
This is why you should speak to us. Our team at the Workers Compensation Lawyer Coalition is experienced when it comes to workers’ compensation laws and ready to help you with your benefit claim.
With our extensive knowledge in this field, we help Redan, GA with their compensation claims. We have recovered millions of dollars for our clients. Our Redan workers’ compensation lawyers handle all legal responsibilities. Contact us today for a free case review.
Workers Compensation Income Limits
The Workers’ Compensation Act in Georgia has strict guidelines; regarding the amount a person can receive due to their work-related injuries. The good news is that the workers’ compensation law in Georgia has answered the questions many as like:
- How long can a person receive workers’ compensation?
- How much does workers’ compensation pay
- How much can a person receive
- The statute of limitation for workers’ compensation claims
An injured employee is entitled to receive certain weekly income benefits – no matter if the injury is temporary or permanent. However, it is important to note that the maximum payment allowed for TTD (temporary total disability), TPD (temporary partial disability), and PPD (permanent partial disability) vary greatly based on the time (date and year) the injury occurred.
- Today (from July 1st, 2019 to the present), the maximum weekly payment for TTD is $675, TPD is $450, and PPD is $675.
- For injuries that occurred from July 1st, 2016 to June 30, 2019: the maximum weekly payment for TTD is $ 575, TPD is $383, and PPD is $ 575.
- For injuries that occurred from July 1st, 2015 to June 30th, 2016; the maximum weekly payment for TTD is $550, TPD is $367, and PPD is $550.
- For injuries that occurred from July 1st, 2013 to June 30, 2015; the maximum weekly payment for TTD is $525, TPD is $350, and PPD is $525.
NOTE: any injury that occurred earlier than June 30th, 2013, please contact us to get an exact figure on the maximum weekly income benefits.
Types of Workers’ Compensation Benefits in Redan
There are four types of workers’ compensation benefits in Redan, Georgia. These types are designed to help a worker and work out a favorable benefit based on their injuries. The four types are:
Temporary Total Disability benefit (TTD)
This is a form of injury where an employee is unable to return to work at all for a specified period. In other words, you will receive TTD benefits if the doctor says that you cannot work at all. Under this type, a worker will receive compensation for lost wages. If you are out of work for more than 21 days, then you will be awarded compensation for the 7-day waiting period.
The benefit is payable to a maximum of 400 weeks starting from the date of the injury, unless if you have a catastrophic claim. The state of Georgia has one of the lowest weekly TTD rates in the country.
Temporary Partial Disability Benefits (TPD)
This type applies to workers who can return to work but in a less-paying position before the injury. This applies to those workers who can return to work but with some restrictions and earn less. The weekly income benefit for TPD calculation equals 2/3 of the total average weekly wages.
Permanent Partial Disability Benefit (PPD)
This type allies to a worker who is permanently disabled because of their injuries. This type of claim is by far the most common, and it accounts for over half of all workers’ compensation claims in the country. This type of disability may be a result of either occupational disease or injury, and it is given when no TTD or TPD payments are being awarded.
The total weekly amount a person will be calculated by taking the workers’ average weekly income and multiply it by 2/3. In other words, the amount the employee will receive is equal to 2/3 of their average weekly income. Although, the insurance company may decide to pay it as a one lump sum amount or weekly benefits.
This type of benefit is awarded where an employee was killed in a work-related accident, which makes certain dependents eligible for the compensation. In other words, the employee’s spouse, minor children, or any other dependent party may qualify to receive the income replacement benefit. It is designed to cover the funeral and burial expenses.
NOTE: Permanent Total Disability Benefit (PTD) does not apply in Georgia. But it may be given if specific conditions have been met. In other words, a person cannot receive PTD simply because they have lost an arm, hand, or leg. According to Georgia workers’ compensation laws, a person can only receive PTD if they lose both or a set of vital useful body parts.
However, you will only get the same amount every week that you would for TTD. The only difference is that the benefit will have an unlimited duration (meaning it will not expire after 400 weeks).
How Are Workers’ Compensation Benefits in Redan Calculated?
The calculation of a workers’ compensation will apply based on the type of disability benefit. As you know temporary total disability benefit is given after a waiting period of 7 days. The injured employee will receive 2/3 of their average income and comes with a maximum allowed amount by the state.
If an injured employee can work but with restriction, and not at the same wage they received before the injury, the employee will get the 2/3 difference between the previous income amount, and the current income amount. You will get TPD benefit income until the employee reaches maximum medical improvement or the 3500 weeks (whichever comes first).
Permanent partial disability benefits (PPD) are calculated when a person reaches maximum medical improvement, and the doctor determined they are eligible for PPD. The amount may be paid as a lump sum of weekly wages.
Are Workers Compensation Benefits Taxed in Georgia?
NO! Georgia is a state that follows federal income tax rules. As such, workers’ compensation benefits paid under a workers’ compensation statute or law for occupational injuries or disease are not taxable. This regulation also applies to the survivors or dependents of an employee who died as a result of a work-related accident and receiving death benefits.
Call Us Today for Legal Advice
If you have been injured while at work, you need to speak with us immediately. Get in touch with the Workers’ Compensation Lawyer Coalition for legal advice. Workers’ compensation laws in Georgia are complex, and without the help of an experienced lawyer, you may end up being denied compensation or given the smallest amount possible. If you are a resident of Redan, GA; give us a call at 770-796-0919 and speak to one of our attorneys.