If you happen to get injured while fulfilling your work duties, you must report the incident to receive workers’ compensation benefits. Georgia’s workers’ comp code of practice can be complicated. Not reporting a work injury in Sargent, GA within due time or correctly may bar you from seeking the benefits you are eligible to receive.
On the other hand, if you employ the proper reporting procedures, you will have put yourself in a better position of receiving financial reimbursement or benefits to cover medical costs and lost wages as you recover. Without enlisting professional legal counsel, it may prove daunting to receive maximum compensation for your workers’ comp claim. Having a Sargent workers’ compensation lawyer from the start will give your case a better footing of receiving the maximum benefits.
Here at the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition in Sargent, GA, we have expansive experience dealing with workers’ compensation claims and know the right legal protocols to use when reporting a work-related injury. Our law firm has helped thousands of employees in Sargent, GA get their deserved benefits for injuries suffered. If you want to get an experienced and dedicated workers’ compensation attorney, please call our offices at 770-796-0919 to get a case evaluation at no cost.
How Long Do I Have in Reporting a Work Injury in Sargent, GA?
Per the workers’ compensation laws in Georgia, if you have been the victim of a workplace injury, you have 30 days to report the incident to your employer. (for instance, if you get injured lifting a heavy item), the timer starts counting down right away. If you sustain a repetitive motion injury, the clock will start counting when you learn your prognosis).
Make sure that you have reported the injury before the deadline date. If you postpone giving the notice, the employer and/or insurer may claim that you injured yourself in another location other than the workplace. This is a loophole in the workers’ comp system which allows insurers to get out of paying any compensation. For your case to be airtight and more credible, report the workplace injury right away.
There are some incidences where an employer may allege that according to company policy, the deadline required to file a report is less than the state-mandated 30 days. It’s important to bear in mind that the time limit to file a claim in Georgia cannot be shortened. If this is the case, consult with us at the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition in Sargent, GA, to help safeguard your interests and ensure everything complies with the law.
All in all, reporting your workplace injury as soon as possible is advised if you want to receive your payout quickly.
Who Do I Have to Report a Workplace Injury to?
If you happen to get hurt while fulfilling your duties at work in Sargent, GA, it’s vital that you notify the right person(s) within the stipulated deadline or else risk forfeiting your claim.
Other than your employer, people you can notify include your supervisor, foreman, or employer’s personal assistant.
Employer Responsibilities After a Workplace Injury
Even before the work injury occurs, it is the responsibility of the employer to create a safe working environment for employees.
After the work mishap has occurred, it’s the employer’s duty to make sure that their employees get medicare. The employer will have to refer the injured employee to one of their listed physicians that are conversant with workers’ comp procedures.
If and when a work mishap occurs, the employer is required to acquire as much information as possible about the accident. Georgia law stipulates that employers are obligated to notify their insurers about employee injuries, regardless of how small they may be. The information regarding employee injuries is sent to the insurance provider in the First Report of Injury.
After notifying the work injury in Sargent to the insurance provider, they will then relay the information to the Occupational Health and Safety Administration (OSHA) in the next 24 hours. It is the responsibility of the employer to ensure that the insurance company is aware.
Employee Responsibility After a Workplace Injury
Here are the responsibilities of employees after a workplace injury.
Report the Injury;
When a work mishap happens, there are several steps the injured should take if they want to defend their right of seeking workers’ comp benefits. The first responsibility is reporting the injury to your employer immediately or before the deadline lapses. The deadline to report the injury to your employer is 30 days.
Seek Medical Treatment;
After the work injury, the employee should prioritize their health first before anything else. You should seek medical care from the authorized list of physicians provided by your employer. Get your medical care from an unauthorized doctor could see you lose your right to seen any medical coverage for injuries suffered.
File a Claim;
To initiate legal proceedings, work injury victims are required to file their workers’ comp claim with the Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation by filling out Form WC-14. From there, the employee should forward a copy of the form to the employer and their insurer.
The documentation you have proving the extent of your injuries is key to you receiving the maximum compensable amount. The employee should keep all the records pertaining to their workers’ comp claim safe. This includes Form WC-14 and medical records.
Call Us Today When Reporting a Work Injury in Sargent
You are entitled to get fair and full compensation for any injuries you suffer while performing your roles in the workplace. Before you start your claims process in Sargent, GA, it’s prudent to consult with an experienced workers’ compensation lawyer.
By reaching out to us at the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition in Sargent, GA, our team of skilled attorneys will help you steer clear of common mistakes done during filing a workers’ comp claim. We have helped work injury victims like you receive millions of dollars in compensation. So if you want to get reprise mentally, physically, and financially, please reach out to our offices at 770-796-0919 to get additional information on your legal options.