Many injured workers believe that they cannot afford to hire an Atlanta workers comp lawyer. Thus, they try to handle their claim on their own and, sadly, often do not get any benefits, or only a part of them.
The reality is that anyone can afford professional legal representation. Here is what to know on the topic of paying for a workers compensation attorney’s services.
You Get an Initial Free Case Review
Reputable law firms offer all potential clients a free consultation. This gives you the chance to understand whether you have a case and the types of benefits you may collect under the Georgia workers compensation scheme.
At the same time, the lawyer has a chance to examine the facts of your case and the available evidence. If our legal professionals believe that you have a solid claim under workers comp law, we will represent you.
Workers Comp Attorneys Work on a Contingency Fee Basis
Even after a lawyer agrees to take your case, you still do not have to pay any upfront legal fees. This is because workers comp attorneys usually work on a contingency fee basis.
Thus, the lawyer will get paid once your claim settles, or you win your workers compensation benefits. The legal fees will represent a percentage of the total amount negotiated by the lawyer.
Georgia Laws Prevent Attorneys from Overcharging Clients
At this point, you may get anxious about how much you have to surrender in legal fees out of your workers comp benefits. Do not worry. Georgia law stipulates that lawyers cannot charge unreasonable fees, either by the hour or in contingency.
An Atlanta workers comp lawyer cannot charge more than 25 percent of the total benefits or settlement amount. This is the limit set by Georgia legislators for workers comp attorneys.
What If the Lawyer Cannot Win Your Claim?
An experienced lawyer has a good idea about the chances of getting your workers comp claim approved. However, insurance companies often fight as hard as they can against accepting it. In some cases, they will deny your claim despite your lawyer’s best efforts to negotiate.
In this situation, your attorney will instruct you to file an appeal with the State Board of Workers’ Compensation and go through all the legal steps. If, at the end of this process, your claim is still denied, you don’t have to pay any fees to the lawyer out of pocket.
This is your best assurance that your workers comp attorney will do their best to get your benefits. If we don’t win, we don’t get paid.
Steps to Take to Make Your Case Stronger
Finally, let us give you a quick reminder that the right actions taken immediately after your workplace accident can greatly help your lawyer win your workers comp claim.
Here is what you should do:
- Report your accident to your employer immediately.
- Follow up with a written report of the incident within 30 days.
- Take photos and videos of the area where you suffered the accident.
- Enlist coworkers who saw what happened to serve as witnesses.
- Go to the nearest hospital for treatment as soon as possible after the accident.
- Once you are assigned a workers’ comp doctor, do not see any other medical professional.
Also, you must keep track of all your medical costs. Make sure you bring all available evidence, including bills and receipts, to the first appointment with a workers compensation attorney.
Schedule a Free Case Review with an Atlanta Workers Comp Lawyer!
Now that you know that you do not have to pay any upfront legal fees, you should not wait any longer. In our experience, claims filed weeks after the accident are often denied on various grounds. Insurance companies will pick on any minute aspect so that they do not have to pay your benefits.
Schedule a free case review with an experienced Atlanta workers compensation lawyer today by calling 470-518-5026!