Suffering a workplace injury can be life-changing and have a significant impact on your well-being and future. Reporting a work injury in Lithia Springs to the right parties and promptly is crucial for getting benefits through Georgia’s workers’ compensation system.
Georgia’s workers’ compensation laws are designed to ensure the protection and compensation of injured workers. But navigating the legal process can be complex. If you have been injured in the workplace and you feel intimidated by Georgia’s workers’ compensation system, contact our experienced attorneys at the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition.
If you need help reporting your work-related injury, filing your claim, or dealing with disputes, our Lithia Springs workers’ compensation lawyers can help. We offer free initial case evaluations. Contact us at 470-518-5026 for more information.
What Are the Common Workplace Injuries?
According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, in the year 2018-2019, over 78,000 workers experienced a non-fatal workplace illness or injury. These numbers show that on-the-job injuries are prevalent in Georgia’s workforce.
Work-related accidents and injuries include, but are not limited to:
- Falling objects
- Slip and fall accidents
- Auto accidents while traveling for business
- Hearing damage
- Construction accidents
- Muscle strains
- Lacerations and cuts
- Accidents while operating machinery or using tools
- Workplace violence
Who Do I Have to Report a Workplace Injury to?
If you have suffered from an illness or injury at work, the first thing you need to do is prioritize your health and seek medical attention right away. You’ll also need to notify the right parties or risk affecting your eligibility for workers’ compensation benefits.
Reporting your injury can be used as solid evidence should you file a claim for workers’ comp benefits. So, who do you have to report your work-related injury to?
In Georgia, if you are hurt at work or in the course of performing work-related tasks such as traveling for business, you must tell your employer or supervisor where and how you were hurt. If the correct employer representative or management person is unavailable at the time of the incident, make sure to let your colleagues know about the accident to help with the evidence of your workers’ compensation claim.
How Long Do I Have in Reporting a Work Injury in Lithia Springs, GA?
Reporting a work injury in Lithia Springs or anywhere in Georgia is crucial in protecting your potential recoverable benefits and can help avoid disputes when you make a claim. In the past, we have handled cases where the employer/insurance company has denied workers’ compensation claims, often because of a dispute related to reporting the injury to the right person and within the set time limits.
If you have suffered a work-related illness or injury, report the incident as soon as possible! Usually, injured workers in Georgia must report a work-related injury to their employer within 30 days of a workers’ injury or accident. In addition, a workers’ compensation claim must be made within 1 year of an employee’s injury (or within 1 year of a worker becoming aware of the illness or injury). These deadlines may be extended in certain circumstances.
The Lithia Springs workers’ compensation lawyers at The Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition will give you peace of mind knowing all time limits and deadlines for reporting your work-related injuries are managed and met.
Employer Responsibilities after a Workplace Injury in Georgia
When a worker has sustained a work-related injury, the employee and employer must follow some strict procedures. Both parties must fulfill essential duties and responsibilities for a smooth and successful operation of the workers’ compensation claim under Georgia’s workers’ compensation program.
If a worker gets hurt at a workplace, the employer is required to fulfill the following obligations:
Provide First Aid Options and Medical Care
The employer’s prime responsibility is to provide injured workers with immediate first aid and medical care, wherever required. Employers are also required to determine the medical provides to be used.
Display Compliance Information
Employers in Georgia must post the State Board of Workers’ Comp Bill of Rights for injured employees and a notice showing their compliance with the law, along with a panel of authorized medical providers in a conspicuous place.
Report Injury and Complete Paperwork
The employer is required to create a First Report of Injury and forward the completed paperwork to the workers’ compensation insurance company or the claims administrator in a timely manner.
Your employer’s role is crucial in your claims process. Employers have 21 days to report injuries that involve seven or more days of missed work to the Board. If your employer failed to report your injury within the set time limit, the Lithia Springs workers’ comp attorneys at the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition are ready to help.
Allow Workers to Return After They Recover
Employers must allow employees to resume their jobs once they have recovered. If the worker can return but hasn’t completely healed, employers have a responsibility to arrange for transitional duty for the injured worker.
Employee Responsibility After a Workplace Injury In Georgia
Last but equally important, every worker who sustains a work-related injury or illness needs to be involved in the control of the workers’ comp claims process. Employees’ responsibilities in the workers’ comp claim process include:
- You must follow all reasonable safety rules, policies, and procedures of the employer.
- Injured workers must report any work-related accident or injury immediately, but no later than 30 days after suffering the injury or becoming aware of the injury/illness to the employer.
- If you are injured at work, you must accept reasonable medical treatment when ordered by the Board.
- You must inform your employer/their insurance company when you can return to part-time or full-time work.
- Employees hurt at work must attempt a job approved by the authorized treating physician even if the wages are lower than the job they had when they got hurt.
Call Us Today for a Free Case Review
At the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition, we strongly believe that all injured workers in Georgia should be able to have their workers’ compensation cases properly represented. That’s why we offer free case evaluations and handle cases on a contingency fee basis.
If you’ve been involved in a work-related accident and want to report your injuries, give us a call at 470-518-5026 . Arrange a free consultation with our experienced Lithia Springs workers’ compensation lawyers today!