If you work in a Georgia business with three or more workers, you are entitled to receive medical and wage benefits if you suffer an injury at work or contract an occupational disease. This takes the form of workers’ compensation. If you want to receive workers’ comp benefits, reporting a work injury in Sandy Springs, Georgia is necessary.
However, workers’ compensation claims are not always a walk in the park. Some employers and their insurance carriers may attempt to deprive employees of their full benefits, which can be devastating when in pain and unable to work. It’s best to ensure your rights are protected by having a Sandy Springs workers’ compensation lawyer by your side.
Our lawyers will not only help determine whether you have a valid claim but also help you through the claims process. If you were injured and are looking to file a claim in Sandy Springs, call the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition at 470-518-5026 today!
How Long Do You Have in Reporting a Work Injury in Sandy Springs?
Once an accident occurs at the workplace and you sustain an injury, you have 30 days to report the injury. Theoretically, it’s possible to report it after this period, but then you will have wasted part of your eligibility period for compensation, meaning you will not get as much as you could have initially.
Also, reporting an injury after 30 days makes it easier for the employer and other parties to deny your claim, especially because it goes against the law. The best course of action is to report the injury as soon as possible. The sooner you start building your case, the higher the chances of getting full benefits.
Who Do You Report a Work-Related Injury to?
According to Georgia’s Workers’ Compensation Act, injured workers should notify their employers, preferably in writing, of their workplace injuries. As mentioned earlier, the law requires you to do this within 30 days. If the employer isn’t available, you should notify your direct supervisor or their representative.
What Are the Employer’s Responsibilities After a Workplace Injury?
Employers have several responsibilities following a workplace injury. These include:
Provide First Aid and Medical Attention
The first and most important thing is to address the accident by giving the injured the necessary first aid and transportation to a health care center. If the injury is severe, they should immediately call 911. The employer allows you to pick a doctor from their panel of physicians. Keep in mind that you can only qualify for benefits if you pick a doctor from their list.
Report the Injury
Next, the employer must report the accident to the insurance company if:
- The worker has to receive health care for a workplace injury or disease.
- The worker has to take time off work and can’t earn regular wages due to the disease or injury.
Evaluate the Workplace Safety and Training Requirements
Workplace accidents are unfortunate and usually call for increased safety measures and training. The employer is expected to conduct a safety audit and work with the relevant parties to learn the best practices for safety in the workplace.
What Are Employee Responsibilities in a Workplace Injury?
If you suffer a workplace injury, you have the following responsibilities:
Report the Injury Immediately
Reporting the accident and resulting injuries to your supervisor or employee as soon as possible is vital. Depending on the nature of your work, compensation claims can vary a bit, but they are mostly similar. To claim workers’ comp benefits, you must be injured. Keep in mind as time passes, and the injury heals, it can be hard to prove if it affected your work or happened while performing your duties.
Seek Medical Attention
Getting medical attention is also vital. Otherwise, your employer and the insurance carrier may not believe your claim. Regardless of the severity of the injury, it’s important to visit a doctor and have them record everything. This will help make it easier when it comes to making a claim.
File a Claim
If you have sustained an injury while at work, you are required to complete the WC-14 form, also referred to as a Notice of Claim, and submit it to the State Board of Workers’ Compensation. At the same time, you should send a copy to your employer and the insurance provider.
Keeping your own reports and documents about the accident or injury is a smart thing. That’s because you can compare them with those of your employer and highlight any inconsistencies that might ruin your claim.
Update Your Employer
You also have the responsibility to keep your employer in the loop in case of any developments. So, in case the doctor mandates that you take time off work, put it in writing and let the employer know. Ensure you are honest with everything about your injury. Keep in mind that lying could make you lose your right to workers’ comp benefits.
Why Should You Hire a Sandy Springs Workers’ Comp Lawyer?
Before you initiate the claims process, it’s best to have legal representation. The workers’ compensation domain can be complicated and overwhelming when you’re in pain and suffering. The right lawyer will help you navigate through the claims process and avoid common pitfalls.
Let Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition Handle Your Claim
Workers’ comp is an important form of coverage for both employers and employees. It not only helps cover your medical expenses and lost wages in case of an accident but also enables a company to afford it.
The workers’ compensation process in Georgia should be simple and straightforward. However, this is not always the case, and doing the wrong things and missing deadlines could see you miss out on the benefits. Hire the Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition to avoid taking chances.
We will help you with reporting a work injury in Sandy Springs and the entire workers’ comp process. Call us at 470-518-5026 today for a free case evaluation!