Workers’ compensation benefits are accessible to you in the event that you have been injured while at work. It is common for an employer’s insurance company to refuse you benefits or offer a lower amount than the amount you’re entitled to. Worker’s Compensation Lawyers Coalition Augusta can help ensure that you get all the amount of compensation you’re entitled to. Here’s what you should know about worker’s compensation cases in Georgia. Additionally, learn what you should do in the event that your claim is denied.
Table of Contents
What Are The Reasons Behind Augusta Workers’ Compensation Disputes?
Here are some of the reasons that your workers’ compensation benefits might be rejected in Georgia.
Inability To Get Medical Attention Immediately
Following a workplace injury, you are required to seek medical attention as quickly as possible. Failure to do this means you risk jeopardizing your health as well as your workers’ compensation claim. Your employer or their insurer is likely to confirm that the injury occurred in a non-work environment.
Once you are injured, ensure your employer has the correct information regarding where to get treated immediately. Your claim could be affected If you see your own doctor. Make sure you collect all relevant documentation regarding your injuries and treatments for your claim for compensation procedure.
Failure To Report An Injury To The Employer Immediately
If you don’t report the injury to your employer immediately this means that you’ll have a lot of difficulties obtaining compensation for the injury. It could appear to be a minor accident so you don’t need to notify your employer right away.
It is important to be aware of Georgia law stipulates that employees are not able to be retaliated against by a worker who has reported an injury or accident at work. Your injury should be treated similarly to the other employees who work. Whatever the severity or minor your injury might be, you need to report it within 30 days. There is no reason to delay in submitting your workers’ comp claim.
Inability To Pass A Drug Test
The majority of workers’ compensation claims are denied when the worker is impaired by alcohol or drugs during the incident. It is impossible to qualify for compensation if you are being under the effects of alcohol or drugs. However, there are exceptions to this policy.
Your employer must ask you to submit the sample of your substance or alcohol to be tested within 24 hours after an accident. If you refuse to submit the test, it can lead to a presumption that you are guilty. If you fail the test, it will make it impossible or less likely of being compensated for your injuries. You must engage an attorney to determine your legal rights and options.
Pre-Existing Injury Or Condition
Your claim will be denied If you do not disclose any injury or condition that could have led to the workplace injury. Be aware that if you have injuries from prior accidents that get worse following the workplace incident and you’re eligible for workers’ compensation benefits in Georgia. It’s always a good idea to report any prior injuries to your employer in order to ensure that you don’t get denied.
Employer’s Delay Techniques
The benefits are likely to be denied if you are victimized by delay tactics by your employer. To avoid your claim being rejected, you must consult an attorney when your employer employs delay tactics or the insurance company.
If there is nobody who was able to witness your workplace accident, your employer is likely to file a complaint to your claim. It is essential to collect important evidence in order to avoid this situation. It is possible to hire the most suitable lawyer to make sure you have the proper type of evidence for your claim for worker’s compensation.
Do you have any prior claims for workers’ compensation that are comparable to your current condition? Well, that’s a good enough reason to cast doubt on the incident that could lead to your claim being rejected.
Accident Happened Outside of Work
If the employer asserts and can prove that the incident occurred outside the workplace, the claim might be denied.
No Workers’ Compensation Policy
If your employer doesn’t have any workers’ compensation policy and you are not covered, you won’t receive any benefits. In the event that this happens, you can use the services of our law firm to locate alternative solutions for your situation.
What Should You Do If Your Worker’s Compensation Claim Is Rejected In Augusta?
The first step is to be able to prove why it was denied then you should file an appeal. Begin by requesting an appointment with the State Board Of Workers’ Compensation where an administrative law judge will hear your case and decide whether or not you’re eligible to be entitled to benefits from workers’ compensation because of your injuries. The hearing is scheduled for 60 days after submitting your WC-14 form.
Although it’s not mandatory to have an attorney during the hearing, it’s always an ideal idea. This is due to the fact that it will help make the process easier by providing the information to the judge. It is important to submit your appeal within one year from the date of your accident, even if you’ve been denied to ensure that you don’t miss out on your indemnity benefits.
Our Lawyers Can Assist You In Your Augusta Workers’ Compensation Disputes.
When you have been hurt while doing your job, you need to receive the amount you are due. To ensure that you get compensation, appeal any denied claims. We at Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Coalition Augusta are here to assist you with the appeal process when your claim is rejected in Augusta, Georgia. Call us at 470-518-5026 so we can begin making progress on your workers’ compensation claim to prevent any hassles. We’re here to assist you!